CHRISTMAS TIME IN VIENNA

But how?? Is it Christmas already?? This is it friends, the countdown has begun and I would like to share with you my favourite Christmas spots in Vienna! (espaรฑol aqui)

20161120-_mg_2584

I don’t know about you, but I love Christmas! Watching Christmas movies -e.g Love Actually – or listening to Christmas songs always cheers me up, even in August! ๐Ÿ™‚ You must be thinking that I like receiving presents… โ€“ Well, who doesnโ€™t?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ – but that’s not theย  reason: For me Christmas is an opportunity to PAUSE for a moment and re-live all those good things that happened through the year.

Of course there will be things that werenโ€™t good at all, but there will also be others that surprised us because they worked for the best, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you have Christmas traditions? We do have a few! In Argentina it’s a tradition that on the 24 th , at 12 O Clockย  “Father Noel” (Santa Claus) will bring presents for the children. Sometimes it may be a relative who is wearing a Santa costume ๐Ÿ™‚ , and others – like in my case- I would be taken to a room together with my brother and cousins and told that Father Noel would arrive anytime soon and that we should wait for the presents to be left by the tree. Imagine our excitement!! Another tradition that we follow nowadays is one my mother-in-law taught me: we write a letter to Jesus to thank for all the good things that happened through this year as well as the wishes for the following year. The letter is placed next to the Christmas tree and should be read again the following year: I assure you that it is fun to see how the wishes are fulfilled and how year after year we get closer to our dreams.

20161120-_mg_2622

This will be our second Christmas in Vienna and we will celebrate it with friends! Even though we would love to spend it with our family, we have a lot of fun here celebrating the Viennese way. Besides, Vienna at Christmas is magical … if you read me during the year you should know that the city fascinates me and that every season is wonderful. But Christmas… must be treated separately!

christmas-in-vienna-lucila-romero

To begin with, here it’s winter, while in Argentina itโ€™s summer. Do you imagine spending Christmas in the sun, beside a pool? My Argentinian friends already know what I mean, but it still surprises me to spend Christmas while itโ€™s so cold that it could even snow!- It seems like a movie to me! – On the other hand, although in Argentina there are Christmas decorations in the shops, the lights and garlands that hang over the streets of Vienna are taken out from a fairytale!

20161129-_mg_3198

20161126-_mg_3096

20161205-_mg_4068

Another thing I really enjoy this time of the year are the Christmas markets. You can find all kinds of handicrafts and food specialties, even heart-shaped cookies with dedications ready to gift!

To drink, my favourites are the Punsch and the Glรผhwein (hot spiced and sweet wine). Oh and let’s not forget to try the vanilla Krapfen and the chocolate-covered fruits that come on sticks.

So you may be wondering which my favorite markets are so I made my top 5 list:

1- Am Hof:

Itโ€™s one of the smallest markets but so charming! Have a look at those little lights and the architecture that surrounds it!

20161126-_mg_3081

2- Karlsplatz:

This one is located by Karlskirche (Church of St Charles). It is considerably larger than the first one.Besides,ย  there is a cute playground for children and a STABLE!

20161120-_mg_2593

3- Spittelberg:

This market is carefully arranged through 2 small streets, which makes it quite special. To me, it looks like a little town within Vienna! Crowds are less likely to find here and you will get the “local market feel” here.20161205-_mg_3987

4-Rathaus:

A must see if you are visiting the city! It is located by the town hall and caters for all tastes. It is the most popular without a doubt:

20161129-_mg_319020161129-_mg_3155

5- Bonus track: Schloss Wilhelminenberg

This market is on the mountain so the views over Vienna are INCREDIBLE! This is probably meant for locals since tourists usually prefer the central markets. (Thanks Anca for taking me there!) The market can be reached by a bus (46A) that drives from Ottakring. My advice: try the home-made Punsch with honey

20161208-_mg_408820161208-_mg_4101

Which are your favourite spots in Vienna right now? I would love to know!

Happy holidays!!

Lucila

17 thoughts on “CHRISTMAS TIME IN VIENNA

  1. Beautiful pictures. I visited Vienna twice this year in the summer and I am just in awe of the grandeur of the city. I have always wanted to attend a Christmas market in a European city. Your pictures make me wish I had visited the city now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

