NUTELLA COOKIES

I know this is a travel blog, but for me part of the magic of travelling involves FOOD. There, I said it! I love food, and that´s why I wanted to share with you this amazing Nutella Cookies recipe I discovered -and baked for the first time- in Austria. I must admit this is the first time I explain a recipe, and take photos while I am making it! So.. If you find something is not that clear, please write to me and I will gladly answer 🙂

IMG_6658.jpg

WHY I LOVE THESE COOKIES

They involve Nutella and we looove Nutella, right? Also, they have an incredible brownie-ish texture, soft in the inside but still crispy on the outside. Finally, I believe they are the perfect cure for stress, rainy days, or a great delicious treat for someone special (in this case, myself :D)

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

Flour, baking powder, cocoa powder, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, hazelnut extract (or you could replace it with a little more vanilla), Nutella (or similar), and milk. Surprisingly, no eggs are involved.

IMG_6604.jpg

THE PROCEDURE

In a medium mixing bowl, put the dry ingredients together: flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder. If you can sift the ingredients before, much better! Set the mixture aside.

IMG_6606.jpg

In another large bowl, put the soft butter, white sugar and brown sugar -I didn´t have this so I used white sugar- Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed for about 2 minutes or until smooth. Add the extract of hazzelnut (I used more vanilla) and beat for another 30 seconds. Add the Nutella and beat until smooth -I used 4 full tablespoons-

IMG_6617.jpg

Then, add half of the flour mixture and beat. After that, add the milk and finally the rest of the flour. Beat until everything is integrated. Once it’s done, put the mixture in the fridge for 20 minutes. Now you can preheat the oven at 160 °C (325°F).

Now we are ready to bake! Place the dough in small balls over a buttered oven dish -you could use baking paper, but I didn’t- Help yourself with 2 spoons. Leave 5 cm between each ball because they will expand! Press them a little bit to the dish with your fingers.

IMG_6628.jpg

Bake for 10-12 Minutes until they are crispy on the upside and start to set.

IMG_6635.jpg

Let them cool for 5 minutes, and then you can transfer them to a rack and allow them to cool completely.

Voilà!

IMG_6650.jpg

Note: bear in mind that the size of the dough balls should be small. Since the first ones came out too big, I tried 3 different sizes: Size of a tablespoon -turns into a megacookie-, medium -generous cookie-. And size of a teaspoon- worked best for me- Here is my experiment:

IMG_6664.jpg

So If you want the 3rd size, this would be the right amount of dough:

IMG_6640.jpg

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, lightly spooned into measuring cups and leveled with a knife
1 teaspoon baking powder
2/3 cup Dutch-process unsweetened cocoa powder- I used the sweet powder for making chocolate drink, so in that case use less sugar)
1/2 cup salted butter -I used 100 g-
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar-I replaced it for white sugar-
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 teaspoon hazelnut extract (you can substitute 1/2 teaspoon vanilla if you can’t find or don’t like hazelnut extract)
1/3 cup Nutella
1/3 cup milk

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

Recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod

Mahlzeit!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “NUTELLA COOKIES

  1. I will try that this weekend. But can I wait until this weekend? Hmm maybe tonight then 😉 Thanks for the recipe! But shouldn’t they be less flat? Or was it the way the also looked in the orginal recipe? Anyway they look totally yummi.

    Like

    1. You should definitely try them today!
      I think the proportions are OK, I didn’t make any change from the original recipe. However, If you come up with a light delicious version please let me know! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

