FIRST CHRISTMAS IN VIENNA

My friends and family in Argentina keep asking me what is like to experience Christmas Time in Vienna. If I had to describe it in a few words I would say that the Christmas season here is simply magical. Astonishing street decorations, lovely Christmas markets all over the city make the Christmas mood contagious to all its visitors.  You could definitely say that Vienna “puts on its best clothes” for this special occasion. So being immersed in this charming christmasy atmosphere, I must admit, I visited most of the well-known Christmas Markets and I loved them! The one at Rathausplatz is – without a doubt- the most visited and popular among tourists. I was told that the locals prefer the more quiet ones like the one by Belvedere Palace and at Spittelberg, and I must agree too. If I had to pick my favourite, I would say it is the little market “Am Hof”, just a few steps away from the famous Cafe Central. I fell in love with the floating lights! 😍

To conclude, if you have the chance to visit Vienna during this magical time of the year, you should definitely not miss the chance to wonder through the markets, stroll around the wonderful Graben to have a look at its magnificent and classy chandeliers, and of course remember to try some Glühwein

 

_MG_2344
Rathausmarkt

 

_MG_3035
Weihnachtsdorf
_MG_2255-tiltshift (3)
Karlsplatz
_MG_2595
Schloß Belvedere
_MG_2781
Prater
_MG_2826
Spittelberg
IMG_4898
Mariahilferstraße
_MG_2428
Graben
_MG_2941
Kohlmarkt
_MG_2976
Am Hof Markt
_MG_2914
Kärtner Straße
_MG_2611
Belvedere Palace

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

L.

4 thoughts on “FIRST CHRISTMAS IN VIENNA

  1. Impressive sights! it´s simoly imposible not to be flabbergasted after seeing such amazing decorations.
    wonderful pictures and a really interesting account of the Viennese atmosphere

    Like

  2. Que variedad de mercados que hay ! Todos parecen lindos, aunque, por la fotos, en el Belvedere Mkt la gente va muy bien vestida. Que de luces ! , bastante distinto de lo que uno ve en nuestras tierras. Muy bien descripto.

    Like

Leave a Reply

